Winding Up Petition Search: CWRE Limited Court Hearing
The High Court of Justice (Chancery Division, Companies Winding Up Court) has listed a hearing concerning CWRE LIMITED for 4 September 2026 at 10:30am under case number CR-2026-003311. According to the official court cause list, the matter is scheduled as a non-attendance fixture. Presentation of a winding-up petition under section 122(1)(f) or section 124 of the Insolvency Act 1986 is a statutory procedure initiated by a creditor or other qualified applicant; it is not a determination of insolvency or a judicial finding of wrongdoing against the company.
Hearing details
| Parameter | Record Details |
|---|---|
| Company Name | CWRE LIMITED |
| Company Number | 08254467 |
| Case Number | CR-2026-003311 |
| Court Jurisdiction | High Court of Justice (Companies Winding Up) |
| Hearing Date & Time | 4 September 2026 at 10:30am |
| Listing Type | Non-attendance |
| Petitioning Creditor | [Shown in the creditor report →](#offers-creditor) |
| Petition Debt Amount | [Check the creditor report →](#offers-creditor) |
Company snapshot
CWRE LIMITED (company number 08254467) was incorporated on 16 October 2012 under the Companies Act 2006. The public register at Companies House records the company status as active, with a registered office address at Leigh Court Business Centre, Pill Road, Abbots Leigh, Bristol, England, BS8 3RA.
The business is registered under Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code 64209, designated for "Activities of other holding companies not elsewhere classified". Revenue figures, net asset balances, and auditor filings are not stated in the published source.
Directors and ownership
Companies House register entries record two active directors currently appointed to CWRE LIMITED:
- Mr Benjamin John Pontin: Appointed as director on 14 February 2024. The register records his month and year of birth as February 1967, British nationality, and country of residence as England.
- Mr John Graham Pontin: Appointed as director at incorporation on 16 October 2012. The register records his month and year of birth as June 1937, British nationality, and country of residence as the United Kingdom.
The public register also lists three former directors whose appointments have ceased:
- Dr Wendy Stephenson: Appointed on 16 October 2012; resigned on 14 February 2024.
- Mr Chris Cookes Born: Appointed on 12 December 2019; resigned on 23 June 2021.
- Mr Nicholas James Reeve: Appointed on 13 March 2013; resigned on 12 December 2019.
In relation to beneficial ownership, the Persons with Significant Control (PSC) register shows two statutory statements notified on 16 October 2016. Individual PSC names and equity control percentages are not stated in the published source. Public register facts record officer appointments only and do not connect any named individual to insolvency, financial distress, or commercial liability.
Recent filings and Gazette activity
No recent statutory notices or petition advertisements for CWRE LIMITED were recorded in The Gazette within the supplied data. The absence of a Gazette notice in this dataset does not establish whether a petition has been advertised or restrained by court injunction. Counterparties monitoring the matter should check the daily winding-up list for updated cause list entries.
What this means for suppliers, creditors and counterparties
A cause list listing for a winding-up petition introduces statutory considerations under section 127 of the Insolvency Act 1986. If a compulsory winding-up order is subsequently made, section 127 renders void any disposition of the company's property or payment from its bank accounts made after the petition presentation date, unless validated by the court.
Corporate credit managers and commercial counterparties evaluating transaction exposure can implement a structured risk checklist:
1. Verify Petition Status: Execute a formal winding up search across High Court registers to confirm presentation dates, court venues, and listing details.
2. Review Secured Debt: Conduct a detailed company charge check on Companies House to identify existing debentures, fixed charges, or floating security.
3. Examine Contract Terms: Review retention of title (ROT) provisions, set-off rights, and credit terms on active commercial accounts.
4. Monitor Register Changes: Enable free company monitoring to receive real-time alerts regarding new corporate filings, officer updates, or Gazette advertisements.
For conveyancers, lawyers and lenders
A preliminary winding up petition search is a standard due diligence requirement prior to property completion, debt financing, M&A execution, or formal client onboarding. Overlooking an active petition risks severe financial loss under section 127 of the Insolvency Act 1986, as post-petition land transfers, legal charges, or mortgage dispositions may be voided by a court-appointed liquidator. Performing a timely winding up search allows legal practitioners and underwriting teams to confirm court standing and preserve transaction validity.
How to conduct a winding up petition search
Investigating court filings requires cross-referencing Companies House records, statutory notifications in The Gazette, and daily cause lists published by the High Court. Performing a structured winding up petition search consolidates these separate data points into a single corporate intelligence report for credit and risk committees.
FAQ
What does a non-attendance listing signify in the High Court?
A non-attendance listing indicates that the court officers manage the fixture administratively. This listing format is frequently used for procedural directives, consent dismissals, or formal adjournments without requiring oral advocacy in court.
Does a cause list entry prove that a company is insolvent?
No. A court cause list entry records an application submitted to the court. The petition may be settled, disputed on genuine grounds, adjourned, or dismissed; insolvency is determined solely if the court grants a winding-up order.
Why are the petitioning creditor name and debt figure missing?
Court cause lists periodically publish case reference numbers and party names prior to releasing full petition details or statutory advertisements in The Gazette. These figures are not stated in the published source.
How does section 127 of the Insolvency Act 1986 impact supplier payments?
Section 127 invalidates dispositions of company property made after the petition presentation date if a winding-up order is eventually granted. Counterparties often seek legal advice before receiving payments or transferring assets during pending petition proceedings.
Disclaimer
This report summarises entries on the published court cause list. Presentation of a petition is not a determination of insolvency; the outcome is a matter for the court. Companies believing they are named incorrectly should email contact@corp-intel.co.uk.