Winding-Up Petition Filed: Howell & Lone Limited
A winding-up petition has been presented against Howell & Lone Limited in the High Court of Justice. According to the Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions, the filing was recorded on 15 October 2026 under case number CR-2026-008015. The presentation of a petition is the earliest public stage of court proceedings and is not a determination of insolvency. The outcome remains a matter for the court.
Creditors and commercial counterparties tracking corporate distress can view the entity record directly on the Howell & Lone Limited Corp Intel profile or cross-reference today's wider court cause lists on the daily winding-up petitions list.
Petition details
The following details are recorded in the CE-File public search database:
| Detail | Record |
| --- | --- |
| Company Name | Howell & Lone Limited |
| Company Number | 11531844 |
| Court Reference | CR-2026-008015 |
| Filing Date | 15 October 2026 |
| Case Type | Companies - Petition - Winding Up Petition |
| Filing Registry | Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions (CE-File) |
| Petitioning Creditor | [Shown in the creditor report →](#offers-creditor) |
| Claimed Debt Value | [Check the creditor report →](#offers-creditor) |
The petitioning party and claimed debt value are not disclosed on the initial Central Registry filing entry. These details typically appear if the petition is advertised in The Gazette in accordance with the Insolvency (England and Wales) Rules 2016.
Company snapshot
Public filings at Companies House show the following corporate information for the entity:
- Registered name: HOWELL & LONE LIMITED
- Company number: 11531844
- Status: Active
- Incorporation date: 22 August 2018
- Nature of business (SIC): 10850 (Manufacture of prepared meals and dishes)
- Registered office: Unit 1 Newcomen Way, Severalls Industrial Park, Colchester, Essex, England, CO4 9WN
- Latest financials: [Check the creditor report →](#offers-creditor)
Directors and ownership
Companies House records document the active and former officers and statutory beneficial owners.
Current officers
- Mr Rickard Andreas Gillblad (born April 1979, Swedish), appointed as director on 18 April 2024. Country of residence is England. Occupation is not stated on the public record.
Former officers
- Mr Paul Christopher Howell (born December 1962, British), appointed as director on 22 August 2018, resigned on 18 April 2024.
- Mr Andrew Lone (born September 1965, British), appointed as director on 22 August 2018, resigned on 25 September 2024.
- Ms Nelly Ward (born November 1985, British), appointed as director on 30 January 2026, resigned on 8 June 2026.
Persons with significant control (PSC)
- Roman Panda Limited (company number 11275192), notified on 9 March 2020 as holding ownership of shares of 75% to 100%. An earlier PSC registration for Roman Panda Limited (notified 22 August 2018, citing shareholding and voting rights of 75% to 100%) was marked ceased on 23 January 2020.
- Huk 95 Limited (company number 12288851), notified on 23 January 2020 as exercising significant influence or control, ceased on 9 March 2020.
These details represent public register entries only. The presence of any officer or shareholder on the register does not imply connection to the petition or any wrongdoing.
Recent filings and Gazette activity
No recent insolvency notices or advertisements for Howell & Lone Limited were recorded in The Gazette at the time of publication. A petition is generally served on the registered office before an applicant seeks permission to advertise under Rule 7.10 of the Insolvency (England and Wales) Rules 2016.
What this means for suppliers, creditors and counterparties
When a petition is presented under s.124 of the Insolvency Act 1986, the company faces formal legal exposure. Creditors and suppliers should understand how commercial risk escalates:
1. Section 127 statutory freeze risk: Under s.127 of the Insolvency Act 1986, if a winding-up order is ultimately made, any disposition of the company's property made after the presentation date is void unless validated by court order. This means payments received from the company during this period may be subject to clawback by a liquidator.
2. Bank account freezes: Once high-street banks become aware of an active petition (frequently upon advertisement in The Gazette or notification via court registries), they routinely freeze company accounts to prevent dispositions void under s.127.
3. Credit rating impacts: Credit reference agencies monitor court filings and downgrade credit terms, restricting access to trade credit.
Practical counterparty checklist
Credit controllers dealing with a counterparty facing a petition should adopt a structured procedure:
- Audit ledger exposure: Determine current outstanding balances, unfulfilled orders, and goods in transit.
- Enforce retention of title: Verify whether terms of business include an enforceable Retention of Title (RoT) clause for unconsumed stock.
- Adjust settlement terms: Move open accounts to pro-forma or cash-on-delivery terms to avoid void disposition clawbacks.
- Check third-party companies: Run a broader winding up search to ensure group holding companies or guarantors are not similarly affected.
Professional risk scenario
Consider an industrial packaging supplier with £40,000 outstanding across 60-day terms against a food manufacturer. If the manufacturer pays £15,000 after a winding-up petition has been presented, and the court later grants a winding-up order, the liquidator may demand the repayment of that £15,000 under s.127 unless the supplier or company obtained a validation order. Running a regular winding up search on key debtors allows credit teams to halt supply or require alternative security before exposure compounds.
For credit teams and suppliers
Credit underwriters, debt recovery specialists, and trade finance teams require immediate notice of court actions before public gazetting. Traditional monitoring via Companies House records filings weeks after distress arises, whereas CE-File data identifies claims at presentation. Spotting a petition early protects cash flow and prevents unrecoverable deliveries. Teams can configure free company monitoring to receive real-time alerts whenever status changes or charges are registered against commercial accounts.
How to investigate further
To conduct due diligence on Howell & Lone Limited:
- Review current statutory accounts and officer registers at Companies House.
- Monitor The Gazette for statutory advertisements or notice of a hearing date.
- Review corporate debentures or fixed charges with a targeted company charge check to understand secured creditor priority.
If you need to verify whether other counterparties or associated entities are subject to court proceedings, perform a comprehensive winding up petition search.
FAQ
What is a winding-up petition?
A winding-up petition is a legal application submitted to the court, typically by a creditor alleging an unpaid debt exceeding £750 under s.123 of the Insolvency Act 1986, asking the court to liquidate the company.
Does presenting a petition mean the company is in liquidation?
No. Presentation is the opening step of court proceedings. The petition must be heard by a judge, who may dismiss it, adjourn it, or issue a winding-up order.
How long after filing is a petition heard?
Court hearing dates generally occur six to ten weeks after filing at the Central Registry, depending on High Court court listing capacity and statutory service requirements.
When is a petition advertised in The Gazette?
Under the Insolvency (England and Wales) Rules 2016, a petition cannot usually be advertised until at least seven business days after service on the company, unless the court orders otherwise.
Disclaimer
This report summarises a petition recorded at the Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions. Presentation of a petition is not a determination of insolvency; the outcome is a matter for the court. Companies believing they are named incorrectly should email contact@corp-intel.co.uk.