Vodafone Group Plc (01833679): Financial Profile & Intelligence

Corporate Intelligence Profile: Vodafone Group Public Limited Company

Executive Summary

Vodafone Group Public Limited Company (company number 01833679) is an active FTSE-listed telecommunications multinational incorporated in July 1984, headquartered at Vodafone House, The Connection, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 2FN. For the financial year ended 31 March 2025, the Group reported total revenue of €37,448 million (€37.45 billion) and an operating loss leading to a pre-tax loss of €411 million, heavily impacted by €4,500 million in goodwill impairments across its German and Romanian units. Following the multi-billion-euro divestment of its Spanish and Italian operations and an approved UK merger with Three UK, the group has deployed €13.3 billion in proceeds to reduce net debt to €22,397 million and execute a €4.0 billion equity buyback programme.

Corporate Overview and Portfolio Restructuring

Vodafone operates across 15 primary geographic markets in Europe and Africa, serving over 275 million connectivity customers and 51 million FinTech users, with additional joint ventures and partner networks reaching more than 100 million combined subscribers. The Group's operations are divided into three core divisions: Vodafone Business, Europe Consumer, and Africa Consumer. Primary activities center on mobile and fixed connectivity services, Internet of Things (IoT) infrastructure, digital cloud solutions, and mobile financial networks such as M-Pesa.

Over the 2024-2025 period, corporate management initiated a radical portfolio right-sizing under s.172 of the Companies Act 2006. The Group formally completed the sale of Vodafone Spain and Vodafone Italy, reclassifying both subsidiaries as discontinued operations. Total gross cash proceeds from these European divestments reached €13.3 billion. In December 2024, the UK Competition and Markets Authority approved the in-market merger between Vodafone UK and Three UK (owned by CK Hutchison). The combined entity, scheduled to complete operational integration in H1 2025, will be held 51% by Vodafone and 49% by CK Hutchison, committing £11 billion to UK 5G network infrastructure deployment.

What the Numbers Show

Vodafone's FY25 group accounts reflect top-line top-tier stability accompanied by severe statutory accounting adjustments. Organic service revenue grew 5.1% year-on-year across continuing operations, driven by strong growth in Africa (+11.3% organic) and Türkiye (+83.4% organic under IAS 29 hyperinflation accounting). However, group statutory operating performance was compromised by €4.5 billion in impairment losses recorded against German and Romanian operating assets, turning group profit before tax to a negative €411 million.

| Metric / Segment | FY25 Reported Value | FY24 Comparison Value | Organic YoY Growth | Key Operational Drivers |

| :--- | :--- | :--- | :--- | :--- |

| Total Group Revenue | €37,448m | €36,717m | +2.0% | Broad-based growth in Africa and UK offset by Germany MDU drag |

| Group Service Revenue | €30,758m | €29,912m | +5.1% | Expansion in mobile contract base and Africa FinTech adoption |

| Profit / (Loss) Before Tax | (€411m) | Not reported in extract | N/A | Impacted by €4.5bn goodwill impairments in Germany and Romania |

| Adjusted EBITDAaL | €10,932m | €11,019m | +2.5% | Margin compressed to 29.2% due to German TV law regulatory shift |

| Net Debt | €22,397m | €33,242m | N/A | Reduced by €10,845m following disposal proceeds from Spain & Italy |

| Gross Debt | €39,960m | €42,967m | N/A | Comprises €36,402m bonds and €10,826m lease liabilities |

| Germany Segment Revenue | €12,180m | €12,957m | -5.0% | Bulk TV contracting transition (MDU law change) and broadband churn |

| UK Segment Revenue | €7,069m | €6,837m | +1.9% | Solid mobile and fixed broadband subscriber accumulation |

| Africa Segment Revenue | €7,791m | €7,420m | +11.3% | Strong expansion in Vodacom, Egypt, and M-Pesa financial services |

| Group Employee Headcount | 88,780 | Not reported in extract | -7,700 roles | Ongoing 3-year European operational simplification program |

| Group Employee Costs | €5,522m | Not reported in extract | N/A | Staff expenses across continuing global workforce |

Turnover and Operating Margins

Group service revenue rose to €30,758 million from €29,912 million in FY24. Adjusted EBITDAaL (EBITDA after leases) reached €10,932 million, corresponding to an Adjusted EBITDAaL margin of 29.2% (FY24: 30.0%). Performance in Germany, Vodafone's largest individual operating segment, deteriorated due to statutory changes governing Multi-Dwelling Unit (MDU) TV laws, which terminated bulk TV contracting. German total revenue fell 6.0% to €12,180 million, causing German Adjusted EBITDAaL to drop 12.6% to €4,384 million (margin of 36.0%). Conversely, the UK market delivered strong top-line trajectory, with revenue advancing 3.4% to €7,069 million and Adjusted EBITDAaL climbing 10.7% to €1,558 million.

Balance Sheet, Gearing, and Capital Structure

Vodafone's balance sheet underwent a structural recalibration during FY25. Net debt fell sharply by €10,845 million to €22,397 million, placing net debt to Adjusted EBITDAaL leverage at 2.0x, well within management's target range of 2.25x to 2.75x. Total gross borrowings stand at €39,960 million (down from €42,967 million in FY24), consisting primarily of €36,402 million in corporate bond obligations and €10,826 million in lease commitments under IFRS 16.

Net financing costs dropped by €978 million during the reporting period, aided by a €253 million gain on bond buybacks and €247 million in revaluation gains on investments held at fair value. Capital expenditure (capex) additions totaled €6,862 million (FY24: €6,331 million), dedicated to 5G network expansion (reaching 75% population coverage in Europe) and 4G rollouts in Africa (76% population coverage).

If you are reviewing debt obligations, security instruments, or debentures filed against a parent company or subsidiary on the register, perform a comprehensive company charge check to verify registration dates, chargees, and asset encumbrances.

Directors, Board Governance and Ownership Structure

The governance structure of Vodafone Group Plc is subject to the regulatory oversight of the Financial Conduct Authority and the UK Corporate Governance Code. Executive leadership is held by Group Chief Executive Margherita Della Valle, supported by Group Chief Financial Officer Luka Mucic. Official filings confirm that Luka Mucic intends to step down from the Board no later than early 2026, prompting an active executive search process.

The Board is chaired by Non-Executive Chair Jean-François van Boxmeer. The Audit and Risk Committee is chaired by Simon Dingemans. Other non-executive directors include David Nish (who is not seeking re-election at the upcoming AGM) and Anne-Françoise Nesmes. Gender diversity within the boardroom stands at 38% female representation, while executive committee female representation reached 45%.

In terms of ownership structure, Vodafone Group Plc maintains a fragmented institutional shareholder base listed on the London Stock Exchange, alongside American Depositary Receipts (ADRs) traded in the United States. During the year, the Group's interest in Indian affiliate Vodafone Idea Limited was diluted from 24.4% to 16.1% following equity fundraisings and the government's conversion of spectrum dues into equity.

Management reset its capital return strategy during FY25. The total dividend per share was rebased to 4.5 eurocents (comprising a 2.25 eurocent interim dividend and a proposed 2.25 eurocent final dividend payable in August), compared to 9.00 eurocents in FY24. To redistribute surplus capital generated from European asset sales, the Board authorised a total €4.0 billion share buyback program. The first €2.0 billion tranche was completed in early 2025, and a second €2.0 billion buyback commenced in May 2025. Shares repurchased under the programme represent approximately 9.6% of the company's issued share capital.

Recent Activity and Statutory Filings

A detailed review of public data sources-including Companies House register and statutory public records-shows substantial corporate restructuring without insolvency petitions or compulsory enforcement events. Professionals examining distress indicators should regularly search official notices via The Gazette to confirm statutory filings.

Key administrative, legal, and operational developments filed in the latest financial cycle include:

1. Regulatory Approvals: Acquisition of unconditional merger clearance from the UK Competition and Markets Authority in December 2024 for the combination of Vodafone UK and Three UK.

2. Hyperinflation Accounting Adjustments: Application of IAS 29 reporting standards to Turkish and Ethiopian operations due to hyperinflationary local economic conditions.

3. Accounting Policy Adoption: Implementation of amendments to IAS 1 regarding bond debt classifications and adoption of the temporary IAS 12 exception for deferred taxes relating to OECD BEPS Pillar Two rules.

4. Workforce Restructuring: Reduction of 7,700 roles out of a targeted 11,000 multi-year cost efficiency framework, generating €400 million in European operational expenditure savings between FY23 and FY25.

5. Environmental Commitments: Scope 1 and Scope 2 market-based greenhouse gas emissions fell 84% relative to 2020 baselines to 0.27 million tonnes CO₂e, with 100% of global purchased grid electricity matched with renewable sources.

When evaluating high-volume corporate restructurings, transactional counsel and credit risk officers should run a winding up petition search across corporate entities to eliminate pending creditor litigation or court petitions prior to executing agreements.

Risk Indicators and What to Watch

Corporate intelligence analysts tracking Vodafone Group Plc over a 12-to-24-month horizon should monitor five primary risk vectors:

To ensure your risk management framework captures sudden changes in directorships, legal charges, or statutory accounts, set up free company monitoring for real-time risk alerts delivered directly to your desk.

Manual Verification vs Corporate Intelligence Platforms

Conducting comprehensive due diligence on an enterprise multinational like Vodafone Group Plc requires sifting through hundreds of pages of consolidated group accounts, statutory filings, legal encumbrances, and regulatory announcements.

Practitioners manually verifying this entity must:

1. Download and cross-reference multi-year group filings from Companies House.

2. Reconcile segment revenue figures across continuing vs discontinued operations under IFRS 5.

3. Extract debt maturities, lease liabilities, and contingent claims buried deep within balance sheet notes.

4. Cross-check charges, debentures, and court cause lists across multiple jurisdictions.

Using an automated platform like Corp Intel aggregates multi-source dataset extractions into a unified interface. Financial metrics, board changes, charge registrations, legal notices, and ESG KPIs are extracted, normalized, and delivered alongside real-time monitoring updates, saving professionals hours of manual document review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why did Vodafone record a pre-tax loss of €411 million in FY25 despite positive revenue growth?

The pre-tax loss was primarily caused by non-cash goodwill impairment charges totaling €4,500 million, predominantly allocated to its German and Romanian cash-generating units, which offset positive organic operating performance.

How much net debt does Vodafone hold, and what is its current leverage ratio?

As of 31 March 2025, Vodafone reported net debt of €22,397 million (€22.4 billion), a reduction of €10,845 million from FY24. Its net debt to Adjusted EBITDAaL leverage ratio stands at 2.0x, below its target range of 2.25x to 2.75x.

What are the terms and ownership structure of the Vodafone UK and Three UK merger?

Following CMA approval in December 2024, Vodafone will hold a 51% controlling stake in the combined UK business, while CK Hutchison will hold 49%. The entity plans to invest £11 billion over ten years in advanced 5G networks.

What happened to Vodafone's operations in Spain and Italy?

Vodafone completed the divestment of its operating businesses in Spain and Italy during the financial period, raising €13.3 billion in gross cash proceeds. Both units were treated as discontinued operations in the FY25 financial accounts.

What is Vodafone's current dividend policy and capital return strategy?

Vodafone rebased its full-year dividend to 4.5 eurocents per share for FY25. Surplus proceeds from European market sales are being returned to shareholders via a €4.0 billion buyback program, split into two €2.0 billion tranches.

Who leads the executive team, and are there upcoming leadership changes?

Margherita Della Valle serves as Group Chief Executive. Group CFO Luka Mucic has announced he will step down no later than early 2026, with a formal succession process currently underway.

***

Maintain continuous risk oversight across corporate portfolios. Utilize Corp Intel's enterprise intelligence services to run a company charge check, conduct a winding up petition search, or activate free company monitoring on any UK registered business.

View the company profile on CorpIntel