H4 Group Limited Faces Winding-Up Petition
A winding-up petition has been presented against H4 Group Limited at the Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions. The petition was filed on 15 October 2026 under case number CR-2026-008017. Under English insolvency practice, the presentation of a petition represents an application to the court by a petitioner; it is not a determination of insolvency, and the outcome remains subject to judicial determination.
Creditors and commercial counterparties can cross-reference recent court filings using the today's cause list or inspect the company directly on Corp Intel's H4 Group Limited profile.
Petition details
The table below outlines the core filing data recorded at the Central Registry:
| Record Field | Detail |
| :--- | :--- |
| Case Number | CR-2026-008017 |
| Company Name | H4 Group Limited |
| Filing Date | 15 October 2026 |
| Case Type | Companies - Petition - Winding Up Petition |
| Source | Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions (CE-File public search) |
| Petitioning Creditor | [Shown in the creditor report →](#offers-creditor) |
| Hearing Date | [Check the creditor report →](#offers-creditor) |
Court CE-File records at this preliminary stage do not identify the petitioning creditor or the precise quantum of debt alleged. Under the Insolvency Act 1986, a petition may be brought by any creditor alleging an undisputed statutory debt exceeding £750, but the underlying debt particulars remain confidential between the parties until formal listing or statutory advertisement.
Company snapshot
According to records maintained at Companies House, H4 Group Limited is an active private limited company incorporated on 30 March 2019.
- Company Number: 11916707
- Registered Office: The Gables Business Court Belton Road, Epworth, Doncaster, England, DN9 1JL
- Nature of Business (SIC):
- 39000 (Remediation activities and other waste management services)
- 49410 (Freight transport by road)
- Latest Financial Statements: [Check the creditor report →](#offers-creditor)
- Going-Concern / Audit Qualifications: Not stated in the published source
Directors and ownership
The public register records the historical and current statutory appointments for H4 Group Limited as follows:
Current Officers
- Mr Sam Winston Collins: Director, appointed on 1 July 2025. Born April 1980, British nationality, resident in England. Occupation is not stated in the register.
Past Officers
- Mr Andrew John Hale: Director, appointed on 18 February 2021; resigned on 1 July 2025. Born September 1976, British nationality, resident in England.
- Mr Mark Holderness: Director, appointed on 30 March 2019; resigned on 18 February 2021. Born February 1986, British nationality, resident in the United Kingdom.
Persons with Significant Control (PSC)
- Mr Sam Winston Collins: Recorded as holding ownership of shares (75% to 100%) since 1 July 2025.
- Mr Andrew John Hale: Ceased PSC status on 1 July 2025 (previously notified on 18 February 2021 as holding 75% to 100% of shares and voting rights, and the right to appoint and remove directors).
- Mr Mark Holderness: Ceased PSC status on 18 February 2021 (previously notified on 30 March 2019 as holding 75% to 100% of shares and voting rights, and the right to appoint and remove directors).
These entries reflect factual records on the statutory register. The register contains no other current director or secretary appointments.
Recent filings and Gazette activity
There are no recent winding-up notices recorded for H4 Group Limited in The Gazette. Under the Insolvency (England and Wales) Rules 2016, a petitioner must not advertise a winding-up petition earlier than seven business days after service upon the company, unless directed by the court. Consequently, Central Registry filings routinely precede public notice publication by several weeks.
What this means for suppliers, creditors and counterparties
Presentation of a petition represents an immediate operational risk factor. Under section 127 of the Insolvency Act 1986, any disposition of the company's property made after the date of presentation is void if the court subsequently grants a winding-up order, unless validated by court order.
This statutory provision typically leads commercial clearing banks to freeze company bank accounts once they become aware of the petition, preventing trade payments and payroll execution.
Practical exposure review framework
Credit controllers and procurement teams dealing with companies facing presented petitions should apply the following verification protocol:
1. Verify payment terms: Review existing ledger exposures and halt discretionary unsecured credit extensions until legal status is clarified.
2. Check retention of title (RoT): For suppliers providing physical goods or vehicle fleet components, audit inventory on site to confirm whether contractual RoT clauses can be asserted.
3. Assess pending contractual performances: Ensure reciprocal obligations are paused if payments for preceding milestones remain overdue.
4. Monitor court dockets: Track whether a hearing date is listed or if a validation order application is filed in the Business and Property Courts.
Illustrative commercial scenario
Consider a transport subcontractor with a £25,000 outstanding invoice payable by a freight firm facing a newly filed petition. If the subcontractor continues to dispatch vehicles without cash in advance, subsequent payments received after the petition date face statutory clawback under section 127 if a winding-up order is made, unless the court sanctions a validation order. A prudent credit manager pauses services immediately upon discovering the Central Registry filing.
For credit teams and suppliers
Conducting a timely winding up search prior to extending trade credit or agreeing substantial supply contracts protects suppliers against clawback risks and unrecoverable bad debts. Where corporate counterparty exposure is ongoing, setting up free company monitoring ensures your risk team receives automatic alerts when court entries or statutory notices emerge.
How to investigate further
Credit professionals verifying exposure should check the Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions directly to confirm whether court references have progressed to a formal hearing listing. Commercial counterparties should also inspect recent accounts and mortgage charges via Companies House and monitor statutory notices in The Gazette. Where broader sector checks are needed, running a winding up search against connected trading counterparties ensures related-party credit risks are identified early.
FAQ
What does the presentation of a winding-up petition mean?
It means a creditor or petitioner has filed a formal application with the court seeking an order to wind up the company under the Insolvency Act 1986. It indicates that legal proceedings have commenced, but it does not mean the company is in liquidation or that an order has been granted.
When does a winding-up petition appear in The Gazette?
A petition is usually advertised in The Gazette no earlier than seven business days after formal service on the company's registered office, in accordance with the Insolvency (England and Wales) Rules 2016. In many instances, settlement or dismissal occurs before advertisement takes place.
Why does a winding-up petition search matter for trading partners?
A winding up petition search allows suppliers and lenders to detect legal action days or weeks before public gazetting, offering the earliest warning signal to pause credit and avoid transactions voidable under section 127.
Can a company continue trading after a petition is presented?
A company may continue trading, but bank account freezes often disrupt operations unless the directors obtain a validation order from the court permitting specific payments to protect ongoing business value.
Disclaimer
This report summarises a petition recorded at the Central Registry of Winding-up Petitions. Presentation of a petition is not a determination of insolvency; the outcome is a matter for the court. Companies believing they are named incorrectly should email contact@corp-intel.co.uk.