Currys plc Financial & Corporate Intelligence Profile

Executive Summary

Currys plc (Company Number 07105905) is an active public limited company operating as an omnichannel retailer of technology products and services across six European jurisdictions. For the financial period ending 3 May 2025, the group reported total turnover of £8,706m, statutory profit before tax of £124m (adjusted PBT of £162m), and a year-end net cash position of £184m. Corporate finance advisers, lenders, and counterparty credit analysts evaluating the company should note its strengthened cash reserves and debt-free status (excluding lease liabilities), balanced against an ongoing IAS 19 pension deficit of £103m and exposure to discretionary consumer spending volatility.

Financial Performance and Operational Metrics

Currys plc operates primarily across the UK, Ireland, and the Nordic countries, combining a physical network of 708 retail stores with e-commerce platforms and integrated services including credit, repairs, and mobile virtual network operations (iD Mobile). The group's primary UK Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code is recorded as 82990 (Other business support service activities not elsewhere classified).

In the financial year ending 3 May 2025, consolidated group revenue reached £8,706m. Like-for-like group revenue grew by 2% year-on-year, driven by a 6% growth in the UK & Ireland revenue segment (£5.3bn) which offset market headwinds. Adjusted EBIT margin across the group stood at 2.6%. The company's free cash flow rose 82% year-on-year to £149m, resulting in net cash at bank of £184m at the period end.

| Metric | FY 2024/25 (Period Ended 03/05/2025) | Historical Extract (Period Ended 30/04/2016) |

| :--- | :--- | :--- |

| Turnover | £8,706,000,000 | £0 |

| Profit Before Tax (Statutory) | £124,000,000 | £0 |

| Adjusted Profit Before Tax | £162,000,000 | Not reported |

| Cash at Bank / Net Cash | £184,000,000 | £0 |

| Free Cash Flow | £149,000,000 | Not reported |

| Group EBIT Margin | 2.6% | Not reported |

| Average Employee Count | 24,400 | 0 |

| Going Concern Flag | False | Not reported |

Note: Data for non-disclosed line items such as gross profit, cost of sales, and total net assets for FY 2024/25 are not extracted on the public summary record. Historical 2016 figures reflect zero operational balances for that specific entity filing prior to group restructuring.

The UK & Ireland operating segment generated £5.3bn in revenue, supported by a 12% increase in recurring services revenue, a 14% increase in credit sales (£1.1bn), and expansion of the iD Mobile subscriber base to 2.2m (a 26% year-on-year increase). The Nordics segment contributed £3.4bn in revenue with stable market share at 28.1%. Higher-margin recurring revenue streams across credit, repair, and connectivity grew 9% group-wide to £814m.

Capital allocation policy prioritises maintaining a prudent balance sheet, funding required pension contributions, and funding growth investment before ordinary dividend distributions. Following the performance in FY 2024/25, the board declared a final dividend of 1.5p per share, marking the resumption of dividend payments.

Board Composition and Shareholder Structure

Currys plc exhibits the governance structure typical of a FTSE-listed public limited company. As a listed entity, there are no individual control persons recorded under the Persons with Significant Control (PSC) register, reflecting a broad base of institutional equity holders.

Current Board and Executive Leadership

According to the public register, the company's officer appointments are as follows:

Notable Resignations and Board Rotations

Public filings reflect scheduled board rotations in line with UK Corporate Governance Code standards. Former non-executive directors Mr John Gerard Murphy and Ms Eileen Burbidge stepped down from the board on 4 September 2025. Other historic director resignations include Ms Fiona Catherine McBain (5 September 2024) and Mr Antonio DeNuncio (25 April 2024).

Section 172(1) disclosures in the company's strategic report confirm that the board maintains structured engagement channels across key stakeholder groups, including employee forums, customer sentiment tracking, and supplier due diligence processes overseen by the executive committee.

Recent Filings and Regulatory Standing

Currys plc files consolidated group accounts under international accounting standards. Independent audit services are delivered by KPMG LLP. The statutory auditor report for the financial year ending 3 May 2025 returned an unmodified opinion with zero going-concern modifications.

No Gazette notices (such as petitions for winding up or striking-off actions) are recorded on the company's public file. Commercial legal teams and lenders conducting standard counterparty risk assessment can cross-check formal Gazette entries via The Gazette and verify the absence of outstanding court filings using a formal winding up search.

Financial Services and Environmental Compliance

The business maintains authorization from the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) to provide consumer credit products (such as Currys flexpay) and insurance mediation services. Climate compliance disclosures filed under FCA Policy Statement 20/17 and Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) guidelines indicate absolute Scope 1 and Scope 2 emissions reductions of 35.2% against the 2019/20 baseline year.

Risk Indicators and Corporate Monitoring Framework

While Currys plc displays a robust net cash position of £184m, risk analysts and corporate finance advisers must evaluate several persistent balance sheet and operational risk vectors:

1. Defined Benefit Pension Obligations: The group closed FY 2024/25 with an IAS 19 pension deficit of £103m. Deficit recovery payments remain a top priority in the board's capital allocation hierarchy.

2. Regulatory Compliance in Consumer Credit: Expansion of credit sales (£1.1bn in FY 2024/25) subjects the group to stringent oversight under FCA consumer duty rules. Non-compliance carries financial penalty and reputational risks.

3. Discretionary Consumer Spend Sensitivity: Large-ticket consumer technology purchases remain highly vulnerable to macroeconomic downturns, interest rate movements, and real wage shifts across the UK and Nordic markets.

4. Supply Chain Exposure: Reliance on global original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) exposes the group to supply bottlenecks and international trade policy adjustments.

Professional Counterparty Risk Assessment Framework

When evaluating a large omnichannel trading counterparty, corporate finance teams and commercial solicitors should follow a systematic due diligence methodology:

Worked Scenario: Assessing Vendor Credit Risk

Consider a commercial supplier negotiating a multi-year £20m supply agreement with Currys plc operating subsidiaries. While the headline £8.7bn group revenue and £184m net cash offer high comfort, prudent credit managers must isolate trading entities from parent guarantees. By examining the consolidated notes to accounts, the supplier confirms that operating cash flows are supported by £149m in free cash flow and that no fixed or floating charges restrict trading cash accounts. Combining this analysis with automated daily register tracking ensures immediate notification if key corporate officers or credit terms change.

Manual Verification vs Corp Intel Automated Intelligence

Standard manual verification of a major public company requires accessing multiple disparate systems: extracting filed accounts from Companies House, reviewing FCA register permissions, performing manual searches on The Gazette, checking High Court cause lists, and monitoring pension regulator notices. This process requires significant staff hours and risks missing time-sensitive developments between annual filing cycles.

Using the Corp Intel Platform, corporate intelligence teams automate the entire risk extraction workflow. Corp Intel consolidates 5-year financial histories, board rotation histories, real-time registry alerts, and Gazette entries into a single live portal. View the complete live register details directly at the full company record: Currys plc Profile.

For Credit Teams, Corporate Finance Advisers and Lenders

Before finalizing high-value commercial contracts, supply lines, or M&A transactions involving retail corporate entities, legal and credit teams are required under internal risk policies to verify solvency and legal standing. Relying on historic annual reports creates blind spots regarding recent board shifts or pending creditor disputes. Missing a crucial filing update can lead to unrecoverable debt exposure or breach of regulatory onboarding duties. Use our winding up search tool to confirm clear litigation standing prior to transaction sign-off.

FAQ

What is the statutory financial standing of Currys plc?

Currys plc is active and reported a statutory turnover of £8,706m and profit before tax of £124m for the financial year ending 3 May 2025. The company closed the period with £184m in net cash at bank and free cash flow of £149m.

Who is the current Chair of Currys plc?

According to Companies House filings, Mr Ian Dyson was appointed as director and Chair of the board on 1 September 2022.

Does Currys plc have any outstanding charges registered?

Specific registered security details must be verified directly against the Companies House register. Corporate advisers can conduct a detailed company charge check to inspect fixed and floating security interests over group assets.

How can I run a insolvency and winding up search on Currys plc?

You can perform an immediate, real-time insolvency search by conducting a winding up search on Corp Intel to verify that no pending petitions or administration appointments affect the company.

What are the main key performance indicators for the UK business?

In FY 2024/25, the UK & Ireland segment generated £5.3bn in revenue (up 6%), increased credit sales by 14% to £1.1bn, and grew its iD Mobile subscriber base by 26% to 2.2m active users.

How can credit managers stay updated on board or filing changes at Currys plc?

Credit managers can enable continuous oversight by setting up free company monitoring, which delivers daily automated alerts whenever new filings, board appointments, or statutory accounts are lodged.

View the company profile on CorpIntel