Bayer Public Limited Company (00935048): Company Profile & Financials
Executive Summary
Bayer Public Limited Company (00935048) functions as the primary UK operating, marketing, and distribution subsidiary for the German healthcare and life sciences conglomerate Bayer AG. For the financial year ended 31 December 2024, the entity generated turnover of £584.0m (down 3.4% from £604.4m in 2023) and an operating profit of £40.0m. Financial performance was heavily impacted by generic competition following a UK Supreme Court decision rejecting patent protection for anticoagulant brand Xarelto. Net assets contracted by 16.7% to £201.2m, driven by a £67.2m full non-cash impairment of Scottish digital health acquisition Blackford Analysis Ltd and a £50.0m interim dividend distribution to immediate Dutch parent Bayer Global Investments B.V. Independent auditor Deloitte LLP issued an unqualified audit opinion under FRS 101, noting that the entity's going concern status remains reliant on formal support letters from the global parent group to cover trade and group payables of £199.90m.
Corporate Profile and Operational Scope
Incorporated on 8 July 1968, Bayer Public Limited Company operates under SIC code 46460 (Wholesale of pharmaceutical goods) from its UK registered office at 400 South Oak Way, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 6AD. The company acts primarily as a commercial distributor and administrative support hub, with products manufactured by international Bayer Group entities and imported for UK distribution.
Commercial operations are divided into three primary divisions alongside central administration:
1. Pharmaceuticals: Generates the largest share of turnover (£441.16m in 2024), supplying prescription treatments across oncology, ophthalmology, cardiology, and women's healthcare.
2. Consumer Health: Contributes £106.55m in turnover, distributing over-the-counter (OTC) self-care products in dermatology and digestive health (including brands such as Bepanthen and Canesten).
3. Radiology: Delivers £36.30m in turnover, selling diagnostic contrast media and injection equipment directly to UK healthcare providers and diagnostic facilities.
The business employed an average of 623 staff during 2024. In addition to commercial sales, the UK entity incurred £56.4m in research and development expenses during the period, with costs partially reimbursed by fellow group entities under internal service contracts.
Financial Analysis: Revenue Contraction and Impairments
Revenue and Profitability Performance
Top-line turnover fell by £20.4m to £584.0m in FY2024, reflecting structural headwinds in the pharmaceutical division. The key factor was the loss of exclusivity for Xarelto (rivaroxaban) following an adverse ruling by the UK Supreme Court in May 2024, which allowed generic market entry. Pharmaceutical revenues declined from £466.17m to £441.16m, dropping Bayer's UK pharmaceutical market ranking from 7th to 9th position.
This drop was partially offset by a £32.9m refund from the Department of Health and Social Care under the Voluntary Scheme for Branded Medicines Pricing and Access (VPAS) covering the 2019-2023 period, alongside strong volume growth in oncology (led by Nubeqa) and Radiology (+10.0%), which benefited from expanded NHS scan capacity across Community Diagnostic Centres.
| Metric (£m unless stated) | FY2024 | FY2023 | YoY Change |
| :--- | :--- | :--- | :--- |
| Turnover | £584.0m | £604.4m | -3.37% |
| Pharmaceutical Revenue | £441.2m | £466.2m | -5.36% |
| Consumer Health Revenue | £106.6m | £105.3m | +1.23% |
| Radiology Revenue | £36.3m | £33.0m | +10.00% |
| Gross Profit Margin (%) | 23.1% | 24.0% | -90 bps |
| Operating Profit | £40.0m | £42.9m | -6.76% |
| Operating Profit Margin (%) | 6.9% | 7.1% | -20 bps |
| Net Assets | £201.2m | £241.4m | -16.65% |
| R&D Expenditure | £56.4m | Not disclosed | N/A |
| Average Headcount | 623 | Not disclosed | N/A |
Balance Sheet Movements & Blackford Write-Off
Net assets decreased from £241.4m to £201.2m due to two principal balance sheet events:
- Blackford Analysis Ltd Impairment: Following a revised fair value assessment in 2024, management fully impaired the carrying value of Scottish digital health subsidiary Blackford Analysis Ltd by £67.2m.
- Contingent Loan Note Adjustment: Linked to the Blackford acquisition, contingent loan notes were reassessed. Although the liability stood at £10.79m at year-end, a target milestone due in December 2024 was missed. This created an adjusting post-balance sheet event that reduced the financial liability by £18.43m on the balance sheet and triggered an £18.7m reversal credit in the profit and loss account in March 2025.
Capital Structure and Intercompany Debt
Working capital figures highlight significant reliance on group treasury arrangements:
- Current Assets: Stand at £242.61m, containing £157.90m in trade and other debtors and £83.90m in stock.
- Current Liabilities: Total £200.25m, dominated by £199.90m in trade payables. Of this payable balance, £143.98m is owed to fellow Bayer group entities and £3.97m to immediate parent Bayer Global Investments B.V.
- Intercompany Terms: Group loans and debt balances are unsecured and repayable on demand. Amounts owed by group entities earn interest at 4.75% per annum, while intra-group liabilities carry interest rates between 0% and 6.35% per annum.
To examine registered security, fixed debentures, or statutory charges on UK entities, run a company charge check on Corp Intel.
Directors and Ownership Structure
Ownership Chain
Bayer Public Limited Company is a wholly-owned indirect subsidiary of Bayer AG, the DAX-listed global enterprise headquartered in Leverkusen, Germany.
- Immediate Parent Company: Bayer Global Investments B.V., an investment holding entity incorporated in the Netherlands, holding 100% of the 25,062,356 ordinary shares (£1.00 nominal value).
- Ultimate Parent Entity: Bayer AG (Germany). Under statutory group reporting exemptions, legal ownership is registered via global holding filings on the Companies House register.
Directors and Governance
The UK board experienced several changes during 2024 and early 2025:
- T Gerdau: Director (served throughout 2024 and 2025).
- E J Carter: Appointed Director on 12 February 2025.
- TT Feffer: Appointed Director on 18 February 2025.
- V R Jindal: Resigned as Director on 31 December 2024.
- R A Payano Baez: Resigned as Director on 14 March 2025.
Total director remuneration for qualifying services in 2024 was £1.11m (2023: £1.21m), with the highest-paid director receiving £625k. Certain directors received remuneration directly from Bayer Global Investments B.V. for wider group duties, with no separate fee allocated to the UK subsidiary.
Strategic Developments, Regulatory Filings & Litigation
Xarelto Supreme Court Decision
In May 2024, the UK Supreme Court refused Bayer's application for permission to appeal an earlier judgment invalidating the patent for Xarelto's once-daily dosing regimen. The decision permitted generic manufacturers to introduce rivaroxaban products in the UK, creating immediate pricing pressure and driving the £20.4m sales decrease in Bayer's UK pharmaceutical arm.
Dynamic Shared Ownership Restructuring
Bayer AG CEO Bill Anderson introduced a global operating model named Dynamic Shared Ownership (DSO) in 2023, aimed at removing hierarchy and accelerating decision-making. The UK entity is actively executing this program. As at 31 December 2024, the entity recorded £2.54m in restructuring provisions earmarked for employee severance (up from £1.38m in 2023).
Portfolio Divestments
The company executed several strategic divestments in accordance with group portfolio plans:
- Androcur: Divested in May 2024.
- Nimotop: Divestment scheduled during 2025.
- Nebuliser Portfolio: Post-balance sheet disclosure confirming the planned global divestment of Bayer's nebuliser business, targeted for completion in late 2025.
ESG and Carbon Emissions
The UK entity recorded an operational carbon footprint of 990 tonnes of CO2 equivalent in 2024 (down from 1,120 tonnes in 2023). CO2 emission intensity stood at 1.32 kg per £1,000 of revenue (2023: 1.85 kg). The company's emissions targets align with Bayer AG's global goal to reach net-zero greenhouse gas emissions across Scope 1, 2, and 3 by 2050. Corporate social responsibility expenditure totaled £542,000 in 2024.
Risk Indicators and Analytical Framework
Corporate analysts, lenders, and risk managers reviewing Bayer PLC should monitor four specific risk factors:
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| RISK EVALUATION FRAMEWORK |
+------------------------------------+----------------------------------------------+
| Risk Factor | Key Monitoring Indicator |
+------------------------------------+----------------------------------------------+
| Patent Exclusivity Loss | Revenue erosion in Xarelto & Eylea lines |
| Group Intercompany Support | Intra-group payables balance (£143.98m) |
| Restructuring Execution (DSO) | Provision drawdown & severance costs |
| Regulatory Schemes (VPAG/VPAS) | Department of Health clawback adjustments |
+------------------------------------+----------------------------------------------+
1. Patent Exclusivity Loss: Revenue contraction following the Xarelto patent loss demonstrates the reliance of the pharmaceutical pipeline on key branded assets. Similar commercial exposure exists surrounding competitive pressure on Eylea.
2. Intercompany Creditor Reliance: Intra-group payables of £143.98m account for 72.0% of current liabilities (£200.25m). Standing liquidity depends on parental funding support rather than standalone cash balances.
3. Restructuring Provisions: Severance provisions rose to £2.54m under the DSO transformation. Operational changes must be monitored to evaluate impacts on UK sales coverage and regulatory functions.
4. Post-Brexit Regulatory Environment: The company highlights regulatory complexities when moving pharmaceutical products between Great Britain and Northern Ireland under the Windsor Framework, alongside capacity constraints at UK regulatory authorities extending product review times.
To set up ongoing alerts for court filings, statutory notices, or credit changes for UK corporate entities, configure free company monitoring on Corp Intel.
Due Diligence Framework for Professional Analysts
When evaluating major UK operating subsidiaries of overseas parent companies, apply the following systematic workflow:
1. Confirm Accounting Standards & Statutory Disclosures: Check whether accounts are prepared under FRS 101 Reduced Disclosure Framework or IFRS, and verify auditor registration via official accounting bodies.
2. Inspect Group Support Documentation: Review going concern notes and intercompany debt disclosures to confirm the existence of group support letters, ensuring intercompany balances cannot be called on short notice.
3. Audit Off-Balance Sheet Liabilities & Contingencies: Examine provisions for acquisition earn-outs, contingent loan notes, and litigation disclosures under Section 411 of the Companies Act 2006.
4. Check High Court Cause Lists & Gazette Filings: Confirm the absence of litigation or insolvency filings by conducting a winding up petition search across official registries.
5. Review Patent Registrations and Case Law: Cross-reference key pharmaceutical brands against UK court judgments published on BAILII to quantify top-line risks from generic competition.
Manual Verification vs Corp Intel Automated Workflow
| Verification Task | Manual Public Search Method | Corp Intel Automated Workflow |
| :--- | :--- | :--- |
| Financial Data Extraction | Download individual PDF accounts from Companies House; manually extract financial tables. | Instant access to multi-year balance sheets, segmented revenues, and FRS 101 disclosures. |
| Corporate Group Mapping | Manually map parent entities across UK and international registries (e.g. KVK Netherlands). | Automated organizational trees tracing ultimate parent ownership structures. |
| Insolvency & Legal Tracking | Manually check The Gazette and High Court lists. | Real-time tracking of statutory notices, winding-up filings, and petition cause lists. |
| Risk Flag Identification | Read multi-page auditor notes for impairment triggers and contingent liabilities. | Automated flagging of impairment write-downs, contingent adjustments, and restructuring costs. |
Frequently Asked Questions
Why did Bayer PLC's UK revenue fall in 2024?
UK turnover dropped by £20.4m (3.4%) to £584.0m due to lower sales in the pharmaceutical division following the loss of patent exclusivity for anticoagulant Xarelto. The UK Supreme Court rejected Bayer's patent appeal in May 2024, enabling generic market entry.
What was the cause of the £67.2m Blackford Analysis write-down?
Bayer PLC recorded a £67.2m full non-cash impairment of its investment in Blackford Analysis Ltd in 2024 following a fair value assessment. An associated contingent loan note liability was subsequently reduced by £18.43m as performance milestones were not achieved.
How does Bayer PLC structure its working capital and intercompany funding?
Bayer PLC utilizes Bayer AG's group treasury system. At year-end 2024, trade and group payables stood at £199.90m, including £143.98m owed to fellow Bayer group subsidiaries. Operational continuity is backed by parent group support letters.
What is the Dynamic Shared Ownership (DSO) model?
DSO is a restructuring program introduced by Bayer AG CEO Bill Anderson to flatten organizational structures and reduce process complexity. The UK business held £2.54m in restructuring provisions at year-end 2024 to support this transition.
Did Bayer PLC pay dividends in 2024?
Yes. Bayer PLC paid a £50.0m interim dividend (£2.00 per share) to its immediate parent entity, Bayer Global Investments B.V., during 2024 (2023: £nil). No final dividend was proposed.
---
Access Corporate Intelligence on Corp Intel
To conduct corporate research, run automated risk checks, or monitor UK counterparties, search the Corp Intel Platform or use our company search tool.